Sat 20:15 / Sun 17:00 / Feature film competition

Lady Macbeth

GB 2016 | 89 min | color | Original with German subtitles
R William Oldroyd
B Alice Birch
K Ari Wegner
S Nick Emerson
M Dan Jones
P Sixty Six Pictures, iFeatures / Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly
D Florence Pugh, Cosmo Jarvis, Paul Hilton, Naomi Ackie, Christopher Fairbank, Golda Rosheuvel, Bill Fellows

ff17_ew_ladymacbeth003.jpg

England in the 19th century: Katherine is married off for financial reasons – to a wealthy mine owner twice as old as she is, who does not love her. On their country estate somewhere in the North English hill moor, the barely full-aged girl is nearly bored to death. Time and again, she sits by herself on a sofa wearing a blue garment, parked like a decorative object. Only late at night she is supposed to be up for the dull coitus serving the purpose of producing an heir. When her husband and her father in law are out of town, she engages in an affair with the virile stable boy and is not willing to give this new feeling of passion and freedom up again – she will stop at nothing.

For his cinema debut, theatre director William Oldroyd relocates Nikolai Leskow’s novella “Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk” (known from Schostakowitsch’s opera) to England. Brutal cuts and increasingly lunatic speed stress the escalation dynamics of an emancipatory story getting out of control. Sympathy for a murderess? The phenomenal Florence Pugh masters this dichotomy in her title role: She turns “Lady Macbeth” into the most enthralling costume drama of the past years.

William Oldroyd
Born 1979 on London. He studied direction at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art before he became director in residence at Young Vic Theatre in London in 2008. His first short film “Christ’s Dog” (2011) was on screen at the International Short Film Festival Hamburg. At Sundance London Film Festival, “Best” (2013) was awarded with the prize for the Best Short Film. “Lady Macbeth” is his first feature film.

Contact
www.kochmedia-film.de

Filmography (selected)
Christ’s Dog (2011)
Best (2013)
In Mid Wickedness (2013)

Sa 20:15 / So 17:00 / Spielfilmwettbewerb

Lady Macbeth

GB 2016 | 89 min | Farbe | OmdU
R William Oldroyd
B Alice Birch
K Ari Wegner
S Nick Emerson
M Dan Jones
P Sixty Six Pictures, iFeatures / Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly
D Florence Pugh, Cosmo Jarvis, Paul Hilton, Naomi Ackie, Christopher Fairbank, Golda Rosheuvel, Bill Fellows

Nicht Shakespeare, sondern die Adaption der Novelle von Nikolai Leskow: Ein messerscharf geschliffenes Liebesdrama mit einer brillanten Florence Pugh in der Titelrolle. „Als hätte Alfred Hitchcock Emily Brontës „Wuthering Heights“ verfilmt.“ (Indiewire)

ff17_ew_ladymacbeth003.jpg

England im 19. Jahrhundert. Katherine wird aus finanziellen Gründen verheiratet – an einen reichen, doppelt so alten Minenbesitzer, der sie nicht liebt. Auf dem Landgut irgendwo im nordenglischen Hochmoor langweilt sich die kaum Volljährige fast zu Tode, immer wieder sitzt sie im blauen Gewand allein auf einem Sofa, abgestellt wie ein Deko-Objekt, das nur am späten Abend bereit sein muss für den tristen Erbenproduktionsbeischlaf. Als ihr Gatte sowie der feindselige Schwiegervater auf Reisen sind, lässt sie sich mit dem virilen Stallburschen ein, und das neue Gefühl von Leidenschaft und Freiheit wird sie sich nicht mehr nehmen lassen ­­­– auch wenn sie dafür über Leichen gehen muss.

Theaterregisseur William Oldroyd verlegt Nikolai Leskows Novelle "Die Lady Macbeth von Mzensk" (bekannt durch Schostakowitschs Oper) für sein Kinodebüt nach England. Mit rabiaten Schnitten und in zunehmend wahnwitzigem Tempo betont er die Eskalationsdynamik einer aus dem Ruder laufenden Emanzipationsgeschichte. Verständnis für eine Mörderin? Die phänomenale Florence Pugh in der Titelrolle meistert den Zwiespalt: Sie macht aus "Lady Macbeth" den packendsten Kostümfilm der letzten Jahre.

William Oldroyd
Geboren 1979 in London, studierte Regie an der Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, bevor er 2008 Hausregisseur am Young Vic Theater in London wurde. Sein erster Kurzfilm „Christ’s Dog“ (2011) war auf dem Internationalen Kurzfilm Festival Hamburg zu sehen, für „Best“ (2013) gewann er den Preis für den Besten Kurzfilm auf dem Sundance London Filmfest. „Lady Macbeth“ ist sein erster Langfilm.

Kontakt
www.kochmedia-film.de

Filmographie (Auswahl)
Christ’s Dog (2011)
Best (2013)
In Mid Wickedness (2013)

Hier online Tickets kaufen.